Product Review: Defense Sport

Mouth guard

Ok, I am sort of embarrassed to admit this but it’s instrumental to the review so I’m just going to put it out there and you can all look at me with a shaming look next time you see me. See, here’s the thing. I wear a mouth guard when I play hockey. (My kids wear mouth guards, too, because it’s the league rule and it’s The Mom Rule.) And after the game, I take my mouth guard out and I STICK IT RIGHT BACK IN THE PLASTIC CASE. Sometimes it gets a cursory squirt from a water bottle. Many times, not.

That’s pretty gross, I know. Every once in a while (translation: a couple times a season), I scrub it with a toothbrush and some Crest. But that’s it. And then, I leave it in the case all week and stick it right back in my mouth the next game. Ewww. I’m grossing myself out!

When Defense Sport contacted me about reviewing their product, an anti-microbial mouth guard cleaner, I wondered if someone on my team had contacted them, like a mouthguard version of What Not To Wear.  I quickly agreed to test it and Defense Sport sent me a free bottle to try out.

My impression
First of all, Defense Sport is really easy to use. You literally just squirt the liquid over your mouth guard, shake off the excess, then pop your mouth guard in your mouth.  The folks at Defense Sport created a video on how to do it, just in case you are unclear on that.

Defense Sport Image

I found that Defense Sport was really good at rinsing off the slimy saliva film that coats a mouth guard after it’s been in your mouth. It feels much better in your mouth, and Defense Sport doesn’t contain any alcohol (although some players on my team deemed that a detriment) so it’s fine for kids, and it won’t harm your tooth enamel. There’s no sugar in it, either. I also liked that the bottle was completely leak-proof so I didn’t worry about tossing it in my hockey bag.

So, you are probably wondering how this stuff tastes. The bottle says Fresh Mint Flavor, which is a bit of a stretch. I can best describe it as a minty Listerine sort of taste. It’s not bad tasting, but I wouldn’t drink it by the glassful, which they don’t recommend anyway.

Defense Sport is a made in the USA product, headquartered in Allentown, PA. The active ingredient is chlorhexidine gluconate, which is a chemical commonly used in mouthwashes, skin cleansers and such. You might have seen it on the sideline of the NFL teams.

Do you really need to pay this much attention to your mouthguard? According to a study by the Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences in Tulsa, yes, you do. Otherwise, you are putting yourself at risk for staph infections, could develop oral lesions and some other alarming things.  This article on MomsTeam details  it all.

Overall rating
I give Defense Sport a highly recommended rating for ease of use (which meant it actually got used!), preventing brown spots from forming on my mouthguard (eww, I know) and removing the slimy mouthguard feel.

Getting your own Defense Sport
How do you get some Defense Sport? You can order it from the Defense Sport website, where two 16-oz. bottles run $19.90, plus shipping. Each bottle is good for 50-60 uses. Or you can check to see if a local retailer carries it, as Defense Sport is now available at several sports retail shops.

 

Leave a Reply

