My Handy Dandy Kit of Fix It Stuff

SharkieLet’s get one thing straight–I don’t sew. Yes, I own a sewing machine. Yes, I’ve created masterpiece Halloween costumes, like this one here, but when it comes to what is generally regarded as the domestic arts, I’m no Picasso. But, it turns out, I am a pretty darn good equipment repair technician, even if it does occasionally involving sewing.

Since my kids break everything, I have learned how to improvise repairs to baseball cleats, hockey pants, equipment bags and a bunch of other stuff. It’s a lot cheaper than trying to replace it with new and quicker than waiting on the repair shop. You just need a few basic tools, easily acquired at your local craft shop, and you, too, can open your own Amateur Equipment Repair and Bait Shop. So here we go with what you need to replicate the Trophy Mom’s Handy Dandy Kit of Fix It Stuff.

Hockey Tape
If you don’t have a ready supply of hockey tape, go get a few rolls– one black, one white, one clear. You can fix just about anything with hockey tape. It’s flexible, has good adhesion, lasts long and you can get it wet. The passenger side mirror of the Fun Bus is held on with hockey tape. Seriously.

Heavy Duty Needles
needle, thread, thimbleGet a pack of heavy duty needles in different sizes and shapes. You need the extra size to poke through thicker materials like equipment bags, or multi-layer thickness. The curved ones are good for working on things that you can’t access on both sides. You’ll also want to grab a thimble to help you work the needle through stiff materials.

Thread
I like to use a poly-blend thread because the all-cotton kind breaks more easily and doesn’t last as long in items that get wet or are damp a lot. Get the heavy duty kind. A spool of black and a white, plus your team’s color should do it.

Velcro®
Velcro, Iron-On Patch, Double-sided tapeMy children do not know a life before Velcro. It’s so handy I use it for everything. Get the stick-on kind for things that just need a closure; use the sew-on kind for things that get yanked on a lot or take a lot of stress. After realizing the zipper on my hockey bag was shot, I sewed on a couple strips of Velcro and it works just fine. For lesser jobs, double-sided tape works, too.

Iron-on mending patches
Sometimes you can sew up a hole, sometimes there’s just not enough fabric left to do it. Or the fabric is so thin, it’s just going to come apart at the mended spot. That’s when you haul out the iron-on patch. Use it to back a ragged tear or reinforce a really worn spot on the seat of your kid’s baseball pants. Or as filler, like when the fence takes a chunk out of a warm up jacket.

An Awl
awl, safety pinsIf you need to poke an extra hole in a belt or goal pad strap or mitt, an awl is the perfect tool and will keep you from hurting yourself trying to use a knife. It’s also useful when you are trying to poke a lace through a hole. Or if you have to defend yourself from a Zombie attack.

Giant Ass Safety Pins
You know the really big kind that they use on diapers and kilts? Yeah, get a few of those.

Scissors
A good pair of  kitchen shears is my recommendation but any kind works here. Except the blunt nose kindergarten kind.

There you have it– the repair kit essentials to help you save a few bucks and handle emergencies. Do you have some items you think should be added? Had to stitch up a kid’s baseball pants while he was still wearing them? Share your story in the comments.

4 Comments on “My Handy Dandy Kit of Fix It Stuff”

  1. Dirk says:

    My wife still makes fun of me for the hack job I did sewing up a hole in the back of my hockey pants one time. It looked like crap, but it did the job!

    • I never make fun of any sewing job my husband does. I’m just glad I didn’t have to do it. I once had to repair a kid’s hockey pants during the game because they were sliced up and the ref wouldn’t let him play. Did kind of a butcher job there but you don’t get points for pretty, do you?

  2. […] gives us lots of zipper with which to work. Repair Tools To make a repair like this pull out your Handy Dandy Kit of Fix It Stuff. You will need some thread (you can match the zipper or match the fabric, or just grab anything […]

  3. HockeySean says:

    I had a pair of jeans that were ripped up pretty bad. I needed a pair of pants I could use to paint walls and not worry about getting paint on. I sewed hockey tape into them. And for a pair of pants, thar I don’t mind getting paint stained. They’re pretty good now. So… In Canada Hockey fixes everything.


Leave a Reply

